ALX Journey First Week

Good day. I’m Marouane Lankaoui, a Moroccan/Casablanca-based 18-year-old student studying software engineering at the university and in the ALX program. In this article, I just want to introduce myself and offer a little rundown of what I did in my first week of participation in the Alx program. The week that began on August 14, 2023, has now been going for one week. Alx, together with my diligence and dedication, are both responsible for the knowledge I’ve gained and the positive outlook I now possess. I’ve discovered a lot of things about myself that I didn’t know. I now have more faith in my ability to pick up coding, have a successful career, and work for a major IT firm.


Image Caption

As a result, this week we learned about git, how to use it, how to push your work, and how to collaborate with others. We also learned about shell navigation, how to change directories, and how to create files. All of this was learned by reading resources provided by alx, watching youtube videos, and completing the tasks. Finally, we learned about vim and emacs (two linux text editors), how to use them, and how to write things within them.


And as for what I personally did, I started learning C the first week so that when we started it in alx, I would be ahead of the game, proficient in it, and knowledgeable about the subject.

So yeah, people, this was my first ever blog post. I’ll definitely share more about my journey into software engineering in the future.